Mark Bretton

Mark Bretton has taken over the chairmanship from John Gourd. And Councillor Sharon Taylor OBE, Leader of Stevenage Borough Council, has replaced John Dean, Leader of Welwyn Hatfield Council, as District Council Representative for the A1(M) Growth Area.

Mark said: “I am looking forward to building on John’s success in helping to accelerate the county’s economic performance through further business investment, transport infrastructure improvements and ensuring that existing and future generations of workers have the skills required to meet the evolving needs of industry.

“I am passionate about the training and development of young people to ensure that everyone regardless of their socio-economic background can contribute to society and their local economy.”

Read Message from new LEP Chair Mark Bretton

Sharon Taylor

Cllr Sharon Taylor sits on the Stevenage First Partnership Board, an informal partnership with the primary role of co-ordinating and driving forward the integrated regeneration and growth within Stevenage.

She said: “I am delighted to be playing an active role in helping to shape both the future of Stevenage and the county’s economy. I look forward to working with Mark and other LEP Board Members as we review our strategic priorities and continue to support both our businesses and the wider community.”

Read the full news release